2023 Winners Announced!

Karen & Katy Koren and the Gilded Balloon are delighted to announce Samira Banksas the winner of the 36th edition of the iconic So You Think You’re Funny? – the UK’s most prestigious comedy newcomer competition. 

Chris Donovan and Lizzie Norm came second and third place respectively, with each performer ensuring fans at the final enjoyed an unforgettable evening of laughter following over 400 initial applicants for the competition. 

Following side-splitting heats across the country, Samira Banks has claimed the crown for this year’s competition after a judging panel including special guest judge Greg McHugh (Comedian, Actor and Writer, Gary: Tank Commander) plus Bruce Dessau (Editor of Beyond the Joke), Susan Provan (Director of Melbourne International Comedy Festival), Marianne Ways (US Talent Booker, Just For Laughs) and Karen and Katy Koren (Artistic Directors of Gilded Balloon) watched sets from all 10 finalists before choosing the winner.

Karen & Katy Koren and the So You Think You’re Funny? team would like to offer a huge congratulations  to all ten of this year’s finalists – Alex Lennox, Archit Goenka, Carwyn Blayney, Chantel Nash, Chris Donovan, Cormac Sinnott, Lauren Carroll, Lizzie Norm, Samira Banks and Sophie Garrad. 

Gilded Balloon Logo
A Gilded Balloon Production
© 2024 - Gilded Balloon
Terms & Conditions Privacy Policy