2021 Winners Announced!

Following one of the most exciting Grand Finals in the competition’s history, Omar Badawy has been crowned the winner of So You Think You’re Funny? 2021, with Rae Brogan as first runner-up and Andy Watts as second runner-up!

With almost 450 applicants, around 30 regional heats that took place across the country and were streamed live online in partnership with some of the UK’s highest-profile comedy venues, and semi-finals streamed live in association with NextUp Comedy, this year’s competition has been one of the hardest-fought in such exceptional conditions.

The So You Think You’re Funny? Grand Final was hosted by Mark Watson – who was himself a finalist in 2002 – in front of a sold out live audience in The Wine Bar at Gilded Balloon’s iconic Teviot building. The competition was presided over by a panel of judges from across the Comedy industry – Artistic Directors of the Gilded Balloon, Karen and Katy Koren, comedian Maisie Adam, Beyond The Joke’s Bruce Dessau and Paul Willers from Just For Laughs.

Katy, Karen and the rest of the So You Think You’re Funny? team would also like to congratulate the rest of this year’s Finalists – Farhan Solo, Lottie Field, Kathleen Hughes, Nate Kitch, Caroline Maddison, Kathy Maniura and Phil Marzouk.